Gnosis Journal

(An International Journal of English Language and Literature)
Included in the UGC Approved List of Journals
with Journal Number 48815


K. Satchidanandan is a famous Indian and Malayalam poet. He is a second poet from Kerala to be nominated for Nobel prize in literature. He has written many poetry, essays, travelogues and drama. Satchidanandan was also famous for his translation work. He has translated some of world famous works in his own style. K. Satchidanandan was also a good criticizer. He is the pioneers of modern poetry. K. Satchidanandan always tries to involve in social issues personally and through his poems and essays. He was a professor of English, and later the chief executive of the Sahitya Akademi ( Indian National Academy of Literature), the Director of the School of Translation Studies, Indira Gandhi Open University, Delhi and National Fellow, Indian Institute of Advanced Study, Shimla. He is a Fellow of the Kerala Sahitya Akademi and has won 40 literary awards from different states and countries including the Sahitya Akademi award, Kerala Sahitya Akademi Award ( five times, for poetry, criticism, travelogue, drama and translation ), Gangadhar Meher National Award and Upendra Bhanja National Award from Orissa, Kusumagraj Award from Maharashtra, NTR National Award from Andhra Pradesh, Kuvempu Award from Karnataka , Ezhuthachan Award- the topmost award in Kerala, Vayalar Award, Ulloor Award, Kumaran Asan Award, Kesari Nayanar Award and Kamala Surayya Award from Kerala, Kamala Surayya Award from Dubai, Kerala Samajam Awards from Oman and Bahrain, Kadammaitta Award from Kuwait, World Poetry Peace Prize from UAE, India-Poland Friendship Medal from Poland , Dante Medal from Ravenna and Knighthood from the Government of Italy. K. Satchidanandan was able to get many awards for his literary works. Satchidanandan has got Kerala Sahitya Akademi Award for his work in poetry, Drama, Essays and Travelogue.

Other famous awards won by Satchidanandan are Ashan Award, Odakuyal prize and Ullor Award. Satchidanandan was also nominated for Nobel Prize in literature at 2011. The awards won by Satchidanandan in different years are given below.

  • Kerala Sahitya Akademi C.B. Kumar Award for Essays, Kerala, 1984.
  • The Best Public Observer Prize, Indian Youth Association, Kerala, 1986.
  • Kerala Sahitya Akademi Award for Poetry, Kerala, 1989.
  • Sreekant Verma Fellowship for Poetry Translation, Govt. of Madhya Pradesh, 1990
  • Oman Cultural Centre Award for Total Literary Contribution, Oman U.A.E., 1993.
  • Mahakavi Ulloor Award for Poetry, Kerala, 1996.
  • Mahakavi P. Kunhiraman Nair Award for Poetry, Kerala, 1997.
  • Bharatiya Bhasha Parishad Samvatsar Award for Poetry, Kolkata, 1998.
  • Kerala Sahitya Akademi Award for Drama, Kerala, 1999
  • Senior Fellowship from Department of Culture, Govt. of India, 1999
  • Ganakrishti Puraskar for Poetry, Kolkata, 2000
  • Kumaran Asan Award for Poetry, Chennai, 2000
  • Odakkuzhal Award for Poetry, Kerala, 2001
  • Kerala Sahitya Akademi Award for Travelogue, Kerala, 2001
  • Manaveeyam Cultural Mission (Govt. of Kerala) memento for 'Service to Humanity through Literature', 2001
  • Bahrain Kerala Samaj Award for Total Literary Contribution, Bahrain, U.A.E., 2002
  • Gangadhar Meher National Award for Poetry, Sambalpur University, Orissa 2002
  • Pandalam Kerala Verma Award for Poetry, Kerala in 2005
  • Bappureddy National Award for Literature, Hyderabad, A.P. in 2005
  • Vayalar Award for Poetry, Kerala in 2005
  • Friendship Medal, Govt. of Poland in 2005
  • Sahityasree, Hindi Sammelan, Delhi in 2006
  • Knighthood of the Order of Merit, Govt. of Italy in 2006
  • Sree Kerala Varma Sahitya Puraskaram in 2006
  • K. Kuttikrishnan Memorial Award for Poetry, Kerala in 2007
  • Subrahmanya Shenoi Memorial Award for Total Literary Contribution in 2008
  • Kadammanitta Ramakrishnan Memorial Award from Bahrain in 2009
  • Kerala Sahithya Akademi Award for Translation in 2009